A Seawall on Top of the Hill (Part 3)

.

.

“Hey hey hey, I found him! It’s at Mecenapolis. Hurry up and wake up!”

The season changed, and one day Woohyun barged in and shouted. With the note containing the address in his hand, Woohyun signaled to Myungsoo and Howon to hurry up, and all of them jumped up and rushed out the door.

Thanks to Myungsoo, who drove the car lightning fast, they arrived at the location in a blink of an eye. Woohyun stretched his body out the window and attached the police siren to the top of the car.

After adjusting the volume, he went back inside and changed into a police uniform.

“Wow, I even have a name tag. Lee Sungjong, he’s quite detailed.” He chuckled and quickly assembled his gun.

Howon also quickly changed into his uniform and loaded his gun. He hid the revolver– which you cannot find easily in Korea– in the back of his shirt and said to Myungsoo,

“Just in case, if we come running out here, you catch him. We need a safety bar. I’ll be in front of the first floor elevator and Nam Woohyun will go inside. Nothing good will come out of revealing our faces too much.”

“Okay.”

Let’s go Nam Woohyun. Howon pushed his hat further down and grabbed his walkie talkie. Woohyun giggled hearing his own footsteps, and Howon questioned him.

“What are you laughing at, boss.”

“Hey, don’t I look like a real police officer? I look dashing, don’t I? Ah, but the sleeves are a bit long on this one, unfortunately. They should stick right on for me to look fashionable.”

“Bullshit.”

Woohyun chuckled and got on the elevator. His hands gripped the handcuffs and revolver that were hidden inside his pocket again.

Right as the elevator doors were about to close, another man came running in and barely pushed the ‘open’ button. Howon moved out of the way and eyed Woohyun. Catch the guy. You have to.

Sure thing.

Woohyun grinned, and the door closed. Woohyun watched the elevator rise with a whoosh sound and moved his eyes to the elevator buttons.

“Are you headed to the 27th floor?”

Woohyun asked the guy who was catching his breath in the corner. The guy I’m after lives on the 26th floor…

Maybe it was because Woohyun was wearing a police uniform, but the man looked scared and flinched.

“Yes…”

5th… 6th… Woohyun looked at the changing number and smiled nicely again. No one would’ve guessed he was a boss of an organization.

“Do you live here? You live in a fancy place for someone young.”

“This is my cousin’s place. But why is a police officer like you doing here..”

“Ah, there’s someone I’m chasing after. I’m here to take him in. One floor below you.”

“Really? Woah, that’s scary…”

The man really looked scared and seemed anxious. Woohyun found that cute and nodded facing him. Ding dong. It stopped on the 26th floor and Woohyun got off first. He turned around and waved goodbye.

“Sir, a bullet might be coming up from the floor, so be careful.”

“Pfft, okay. You be careful, too, Woohyun-ssi. And I hope you catch the culprit.”

The man’s round eyes soon turned innocent as he smiled. Thankfully, it seemed that Woohyun’s jokes had worked. Woohyun smiled widely, and then hardened his face when he turned back around. The culprit… was in front of this door.

.

.

.

Ding– dong

“Who is it?”

“I’m from the Mapo police station. Are you Han Byungchul?”

The door opened and Woohyun stepped inside.

“What brings a police officer here–” a man asked obliviously. Woohyun quietly closed the door and revealed his gun.

“*gasp* !! Wh–what are you doing?!”

“Shut up. And just answer what I ask you. Then I’ll let you live.”

He made the trembling man kneel down and Woohyun released the safety of his gun. The man became even more panicked and was about to scream, and Woohyun aimed the gun at the man’s head. It wasn’t a close distance, but Woohyun’s arm remained unshaken as he aimed his gun.

“A man named Lee Sungyeol. Do you know him? He’s 27 years old and an employee of Kaylo.”

“N–no, I don’t kn– Aaaack!!”

Pshhh. The gun with the silencer released a bullet that scratched the man’s neck and struck the mirror behind him. The man heard the mirror break and screamed to please let him live, but Woohyun waved his gun like he was tired of this now.

“I’ll decide on that. Do you know him. Lee Sungyeol. On that day, your name was missing from the list of participants working on the project. You were the project leader. You used to never miss a day. Even on days after that day.”

“Wh-which day are you talking about…”

“During winter of last year. You were in Moon Park of Busan. My employee was there, too. Hurry up and open your mouth. My arm’s getting tired.”

“I… I, I, I’ve only been absent one day in my life!”

“Really? Well, I just told you that right now. What did you do on that day. What did you do in Busan and do you know who Lee Sungyeol is. I’m asking you right now, right? Do I have to shoot your leg for you to answer?”

Aaack!! The man screamed when Woohyun didn’t even shoot yet. Woohyun blocked one of his ears and spoke.

“Let’s talk, Byungchul. I’m on a tight schedule.”

“I, I swear! I really don’t know who he is! I went to Busan to meet with a friend there. Really, I really don’t know a person named Lee Sungyeol! I, I, I even have proof! That, that friend and I, and the restaurant we went to!”

The man trembled in fear as he answered, and Woohyun stared at him blankly. This guy wasn’t it. This guy wasn’t the one, either…  Sigh.. Woohyun let out a breath.

“You really don’t know? Not even his name?”

“Yes…! I heard it for the first time right now!”

“You know now that you’ve heard it. I’m sorry but you can’t know that name.”

Pshh–. The man’s voice disappeared. Woohyun watched the body fall without much excitement and turned back. What a waste of time.

.

.

.

.

Woohyun stepped out of the elevator. Howon straightened his posture when he saw Woohyun but when Woohyun shook his head in disappointment, Howon let out a deep sigh.

“He’s not the one?”

“Yeah. Sigh.. there aren’t many suspects left now. I don’t see an end to this, really.”

“Tell me about it… Looks like Kim Myungsoo’s gonna have a drink today, too. He’s had his eyes on Han Byungchul for a long time, you know.”

Frustrated that he just wasted his time, Woohyun stretched his body and got back into the car energetically.

“I guess he’s not it,” Myungsoo mumbled to them as he saw Woohyun’s awkwardly bright face.

Those words seemed quite heavy, and Woohyun patted his shoulder to let him know that he was sorry and smiled.

“Let’s look again. There are still guys that have a possibility.”

“Alright… we should look again. You guys are doing so much work because of me. The workload from the business alone is enough already.”

“Dude. Sungyeol is our friend. And he means more to you. Of course we should look for him if he went missing. Don’t think like that, okay. Since we’ve chased after one guy for three months, let’s have a drink and go after another one. We’ll find him. Cheer up.”

Seeing that Woohyun was trying to cheer him up somehow, Myungsoo put on a forceful smile, swallowed a sigh, and started the car. The siren that was put away now was rolling around on the floor of the car.

When the car had been running for some time and it came to a stop because of the stoplights, Howon seemed to have suddenly remembered something and nudged Woohyun.

“Oh right, Nam Woohyun. Your clothes and my clothes were switched. No wonder the sizes were weird. Look.”

“Oh. Really.”

Woohyun chuckled, took off the uniform, and passed it to Howon. And Woohyun received his own from Howon and started folding it up nicely. Suddenly, though, he froze in place.

When Woohyun’s eyes completely froze, Howon asked, “Why?” and Woohyun’s face turned stone cold.

“Kim Myungsoo, turn the car around! Hurry!!” Woohyun started yelling and Myungsoo didn’t even have time to be flustered as he turned the steering wheel in a hurry. Woohyun’s eyes trembled and his glare pierced through the glass in front of him.

[ Pfft, okay.  You be careful, too, Woohyun-ssi. And I hope you catch the culprit. ]

My name tag said Lee Howon on it, so how could he know my name..!!!  Woohyun gripped his knees in anxiousness. Chills ran up and down his back.

.

.

.


 

.

.

.

“Hyung! Hyung hyung, we have to move out! Hurry!!”

Dongwoo barged in through the door and Sunggyu looked at him strangely.

“Why are you coming back from our house saying that we have to move all of a sudden. And why do you keep running away from your bodyguards..”

“No, we have to move!!!! I said something wrong, hyung!”

Dongwoo stomped his feet, and Sunggyu’s smile disappeared. “Wrong how?”

“I forgot to feed the goldfish so I went back home but, *breathes out* .. in, in the elevator, the boss of Kaylo was there. That Nam Woohyun guy!”

“What?”

Sunggyu put his pen down and asked Dongwoo once more. Dongwoo seemed frustrated at himself for not being able to talk very fast because he was flustered. He spoke as he waved his hands around.

“I think he came to ask something to someone living on the 26th floor, but he was hiding a gun. He wore a police officer uniform, too. He had a different name tag on, as if to disguise as someone else. But it didn’t occur to me that this was my first time seeing him in person and I said his name!”

“… then by ‘something wrong’ you mean..”

“You never know. He might’ve noticed. You told me many times that he was a mysterious guy. That’s what makes me feel uneasy. Let’s move somewhere else, hyung.”

“… Lee Taemin.”

Yes boss. Taemin opened the door and stepped in. Sunggyu spoke with his eyes on the wall.

“Pack things up right now and…No. Hold on.”

Sunggyu stood up from his chair and tapped on his desk. Tap, tap, tap.
and Dongwoo watched him anxiously.
A little later, Sunggyu spoke up again.

“Don’t move. It may leave us even more suspicious. There’s no way he didn’t notice… You better be thankful you’re lucky, Jang Dongwoo. If he noticed right away, you would’ve been dragged away on the spot.”

“Yeah.. sorry, hyung.”

Dongwoo lowered his head like a sad puppy.

“It won’t be a big problem since that house isn’t even under our name but… still, we can never go back to that house again. Lee Taemin, order the same furniture and clothes and move them into the house we have in Hannam. Let’s stay there for a while.”

“Understood.”

“And you, Dongwoo, I told you to be careful of what you say. This is why we get ourselves into trouble.”

“Sorry.”

Sigh. Sunggyu sighed and sat back down. He thought about the man’s glistening eyes. He’s not an easy opponent. He’s the type of scary bastard to giggle as he puts a gun to your head. 

Sunggyu remained lost in thought and it made Dongwoo go silent as well. They had just stepped on a pretty dangerous trap.

.

.

.

.


 

.

.

.

.

“He’s gone?!”

Woohyun ran towards Howon and asked, totally out of breath.

“Yeah. I saw the CCTV and he went back down to the first floor as soon as you stepped out. I don’t know if he did this on purpose but he kept his head down, too, so I couldn’t see his face.”

*breathes out* What about the 27th floor. No one else came except for the police? Not even the 26th floor?”

“Yeah.”

“Shit!” Woohyun kicked the wall as he spoke with Howon, and later, Myungsoo ran up and spoke to them.

“I went to the maintenance office and to the real-estate office. The owner of that house must be someone else. He’s living in Australia. I think whoever lives in there is borrowing the owners name… No one came? to that house?”

“Yeah, apparently no one did. Ughhh! I’m going crazy! What the hell is he? How did he know my name?”

Woohyun shifted around in anxiousness and Howon’s face hardened having no idea what was going on.

“Really, what is this… what organization is he from. Nam Woohyun, you didn’t recognize his face?”

“If I knew, would I be like this right now? I even smiled as I patted his shoulder. The hell, this gives me the creeps! That dude already knew who I was!”

“That’s weird… People may know your name but it’s rare to find someone who knows your face, too. Kim Myungsoo goes in place of you most of the time. Some CEOs think he’s the boss of Kaylo.”

Howon gestured towards Myungsoo with his chin and Woohyun nodded. “That’s true…” Woohyun crouched down on the floor and touched his lips. Who is he. How does he know me.

“Ah, damn it. Why isn’t anything working out this year? I got the financial statement stolen right in front of my eyes, Kim Sunggyu made fun of me, and now a mysterious guy recognized me… Maybe I should go see a shaman. Is something happening to me?”

Woohyun whined as he looked up at the sky, and Howon plopped down on the ground next to him. The flowers’ petals from the pots behind them brushed their backs.

“I’ll say. Things aren’t looking good for you this year. You were forced to quit smoking at the beginning of this year and Lee Sungjong– who usually stayed quiet– whined about wanting a raise… Wow, what a life, huh, boss?”

“Don’t make fun of me, you bastard. I’m even more sad now that you pointed each one out. *sob*”

Watching the two carry on a meaningless conversation, Myungsoo remained standing and spoke up.

“Hey, Nam Woohyun. You attend all the things that I don’t attend, right?”

“Huh? Uhh, yeah, I do.”

Myungsoo went back to thinking and Woohyun stopped joking around and focused on him.

“Erase every business deal I went in place of you, and erase those that Howon went to… then that only leaves us with a few people who know your name and face.  I heard what Howon said earlier, but we may be able to track down who it is and where he is.”

“Oh, you’re right.”

Woohyun nodded right away and started counting on his fingers. Now that I think about it. Really. It was a little over ten places. And all of them were higher-ups. 

“Hey.. hey hey, we really might be able to find him. If I don’t know him but he knows me, he must be an employee at one of the business deals or someone the representative knows. But that person must be working in the same company.
I better be keen to my surroundings at my business deals from now on. Lee Howon, you stick with me. I’m gonna let you know as soon as I see him.”

“Okay.”

Phew. Woohyun let out a light breath and called the secretary.

“Hey, when is my next meeting with the clients I’ve met? Tell me all of them.”

.

.

.

.

 

Leave a comment